Third Time Not So Lucky

New years day saw the annual Kirby Muxloe wheelbarrow race, having won in 06 and 07 the pressure was on for the hat trick. My usual partner for the event, Pete Coakley, is currently on a bit of a world tour, spending the new year in Sydney, sounds like a poor excuse to me, but he wasn’t going to come back for the race.

I didn’t have to look very far for a replacement, our mate rug (Andrew Groom) stepped up to the challenge, I gave him a quick briefing on change over tactics and we were set.

I ran the first leg, pushing rug, we got away from the start line and settled into 3rd place, I was determined to get to the front before we changed over, I just managed this by overtaking as the two teams in-front switched. Rug did his stint which seemed to pass very quickly and I was at the bottom of the final hill in third place with no energy left from my first run. With little hope of catching the guys in-front we lost enthusiasm, but managed to hold our 3rd place to the end.

Looking back to the glory days, a cutting from the Leicester Mercury:

1 Jan 2006

Leave a Reply

